Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

Breathtaking artistry!

Thursday, January 10 at 8:00 pm

Wright Auditorium

Reserved seating by zone: $55/$45/$35/$25. Single tickets on sale September 3 at 8:00 am.

Available now in full or pick-five subscription packages.


The Grammy Award-winning orchestra is a standard-bearer of innovation and artistic excellence, combining the intimacy and warmth of a chamber ensemble with the richness of an orchestra. Performing without a conductor, Orpheus presents an annual series at Carnegie Hall and tours extensively. They’ve released 71 critically-acclaimed recordings to date, on the Sony Classical, EMI Classics and Decca labels, as well as their own, Orpheus Chamber Orchestra Records. ECU’s program is slated to include works by Mozart and Dvorák. Don’t miss this crown jewel in the presenting history of the S. Rudolph Alexander Performing Arts Series!


Still Life, a North Carolina premiere from composer James Matheson

Mozart’s Concerto for Piano No. 27 in B-flat major, K. 595 with Javier Perianes

Dvorák’s Five Bagatelles, Op.47

Mozart’s Symphony No.33 in B-flat major

*Program subject to change


“Stunning.” -The Telegram

“The audience was rapt.” -Huffpost

About the artists

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra creates extraordinary musical experiences that enrich lives and empower individuals through collaboration, innovation, and a passion for artistic excellence. Orpheus strives to be the world’s premier chamber orchestra by performing music at the highest level, challenging artistic boundaries, inspiring the public to think and work with new perspectives, and building a broad and active audience in New York City and around the world.


Javier Perianes’ flourishing international career spans five continents taking him to some of the world’s most prestigious venues, including Carnegie Hall in New York, the Barbican, Royal Festival and Wigmore Halls in London, Philharmonie and Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris and Philharmonie in Berlin, the Musikverein in Vienna, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, St Petersburg’s Philharmonic Hall, the Great Hall at the Moscow Conservatory, Suntory Hall in Tokyo and Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires. Last season he performed with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, BBC Symphony, Finnish and Norwegian Radio, Danish National, City of Birmingham and Hamburger Symphoniker, as well as debuts with Cincinnati, Indianapolis, Basel, RTÉ National, Oslo Philharmonic, Lille and Moscow State Symphony orchestras. He records exclusively for harmonia mundi.


Composer James Matheson has been commissioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Carnegie Hall. In his own words: There’s a double meaning to Still Life; both in its reference to a style of visual art that focused on the complexity of arrangement within a seemingly simple form, as well the fact that the surface simplicity of a still life also has a shimmering activity in the details of the work; a productive tension between the surface detail and the simple form that holds it together. The second meaning here is simply acknowledging that, despite the division into polarized groups that define the political and social system today. It’s still life as it has always been.


Venue information

Wright Auditorium


This event is a part of the S. Rudolph Alexander Performing Arts Series. Founded in 1962, SRAPAS presents world-class touring artists to support the quality of life of all eastern North Carolinians.


Buy tickets online or call 252-737-5444.